In the year of 2018, it is almost unheard of to not own some type of smart phone, and access to it during most times of the day.
With smart phones you have easy access to driving services like Lyft and Uber.
Do the math. It is a lot easier to catch a ride, than to risk yours and other people’s lives by drinking and driving.
Last year, the Colorado General Assembly passed a bill that requires the State to release a report each year that reviews DUIs and other crimes that involve driving while using drugs, or alcohol.
The Colorado Division of Criminal Justice released the report earlier this year, based off of data from 2016. It found that there were 27,244 case filings with at least one DUI charge, and 97,066 total charges associated with those cases.
The report also found that almost 75 percent of people charged with a DUI were men, and over 30 percent of those who were charged were in their 20s.
The Colorado Division of Criminal Justice’s report says 38 percent of people charged in 2016 had a prior DUI conviction. When people received toxicology screenings, 86 percent of them had at least one substance in their system, including alcohol, marijuana, or some other type of drug.
When dealing with cases involving alcohol, the State had a 92 percent conviction rating, but with cases only involving THC, convictions were at a 62 percent rate.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that 10,497 people died from alcohol-impaired driving crashes in 2016. Those deaths accounted for 28 percent of all traffic-related deaths in the country. Seventeen percent of those incidents involved a child aged 0 to 14 years old dying, because of an alcohol-impaired driver.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, over 1 million people were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, or narcotics.
Aside from risking your life and others when you drive drunk, there are additional consequences. Getting a DUI in Colorado is something that you don’t want to deal with in your life. The state has two types of alcohol-related driving offenses – driving under the influence of alcohol, or drugs and driving while ability is impaired.
The first offense of driving while ability is impaired results in 8 points toward a license suspension. You can also face a $200 to $1500 fine, and up to one year in jail. DUIs result in administrative license revocation for nine months, and a $600 to $1,000 fine.
To combat drunken driving, RTD is offering free bus and rail services on its entire system from 7 p.m. on New Year’s Eve, until 2:59 a.m. on Jan. 2. The free services are supported by Coors Light Coors Distributing Company.
There are plenty of ways to get around town without risking your life and others’. Don’t drink and drive this holiday season, or at any other time.