In English
En Español
In English
En Español
  Around the City
  Arts & Entertainment
  El Mundo
  From the Publisher
  La Vida Latina
  La Voz Special Editions
  La Voz NAHP Awards
  Letter to the Editor
  Mis Recuerdos
  My Money
  Nuestra Gente
  Of Special Interest
  Pueblo/Southern Colorado
  Que Pasa
  Readers Speak Out
  Student of the Week
  Where Are They Now?
Seven Colorado high schools win Eliza Pickrell Routt Award
La Voz Logo

By Source: Colorado Secretary of State

The Colorado Secretary of State awarded seven high schools with the Eliza Pickrell Routt award during the 2019 spring semester. The award was created in 2016 by the Colorado Secretary of State’s office and is given to high schools that have 85 percent or more of eligible seniors registered to vote.

This award is named after Eliza Pickrell Routt, the first woman registered to vote in Colorado after the state’s passage of women’s suffrage in 1893. Eliza served as Colorado’s first First Lady; her husband John Routt was elected as Colorado’s first governor in 1876. In this role, she dedicated herself to equal rights for women and the passage of women’s suffrage. She was a member of the Non-Partisan Suffrage Association of Colorado and served as president of the City League of Denver. In honor of her commitment to the passage of women’s suffrage, Routt was the first woman registered to vote in Colorado.

During the spring semester of 2019, seven Colorado high schools won this award:

Olathe High School

February 1 - Award granted Jesus Gonzalez, Soledad Almanza, Cinthia Cortez, and Leif Nelson, who are students at Olathe High School and to Social Studies Teacher Kari Keller.

DSST Stapleton High School

April 15 - Award granted to Ivan Tochimani-Hernandez, a student at DSST Stapleton, and Social Studies Teacher Leslie Hamdorf.

Peak to Peak High School

May 3 - Award granted to Elle Triem, Lily Dunkin, Sudeepti Nareddy, Isabella Sicker, Shaan Sharma, who are students at Peak to Peak High School, and English Teacher Josh Benson.

STRIVE Prep Excel

May 7 - Award granted to 2019 Senior Class

Strasburg High School

May 14 - Award granted to Maleah Yates and Cody Wilson, who are students at Strasburg High School, and to Principal Jeff Rasp.

DSST Green Valley Ranch High School

May 20 - Award granted to John Zeerak, a student at DSST Green Valley Ranch and to the Manager of College Success – Internships Bradley West.

Arrupe Jesuit High School

May 22 - Award granted to Dianna De La Rosa Santiago, Esmeralda Solis, and Alyssa Galvan, who are students at Arrupe Jesuit High School and to English Teacher Megan Turilli.

“Congratulations to all of the highs schools and student leaders who helped register 85 percent of their eligible seniors. Young people have the opportunity to help shape the future of our state and our country with their vote, no matter what political party they identify with, or the issue that inspires them most. It is exciting to see student leaders organize to register their peers and participate in our democracy,” said Secretary of State Jena Griswold.





Click on our advertising links for:
La Voz
'You Tube Videos'
An EXCLUSIVE La Voz Bilingue interview
with President Barack Obama
Pulsa aquí para más episodios

Follow La Voz on:

Tweeter FaceBook Tweeter


© 2019 La Voz Bilingüe. All Rights Reserved.

Advertising | Media Kit | Contact Us | Disclaimer

12021 Pennsylvania St., #201, Thornton, CO 80241, Tel: 303-936-8556, Fax: 720-889-2455

Site Powered By: Multimedia X