Having a car seat for your child can be the difference between life and death. Not only that, but a car seat can save your child from having serious injuries in case of an accident.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, car crashes are the leading cause of death for children older than 3 in the United States, and they cause 179,000 injuries among children each year.
For children, car seats make all the difference. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention say that car seats cut death risk by 71 percent for infants and 54 percent for children up until the age of 4.
This week is Child Passenger Safety Week, and the American Automobile Association wants to make sure that parents have their children’s car seats properly secured. The association found that three out of four car seats are not properly installed, and it is important to make sure that they are.
Experts know that installing a car seat can be complicated, and the best recommendation for parents is to read instructions provided with the car seat and to make sure that seatbelts are secured properly.
There are resources out there for parents who may struggle with properly installing a car seat. The DMV has a guide on how to properly install a child safety seat at dmv.org/how-to-guides/install-child-seat.php.
If parents visit codot.gov/safety/seatbelts-carseats/carseats, they can find an inspection station where experts will determine if a car seat has been properly installed, or not. The DMV’s website says that most stations offer free assistance.
Colorado recognizes how important it is for children to be secured in a car seat. The state’s laws require children to be in a booster, or any type of appropriate car seat until the age of eight. Car seats should be purchased to match the child’s weight, height and age.
At eight years old, children can start using a normal seat belt when in a vehicle. However, it is recommended that parents wait until their child is at least 4ft 9 inches, in order to avoid an injury.
Colorado’s laws were created to enforce safety among the community. Police can pull over people if they see a law being broken in regards to car seats for children, and if pulled over, people can face a minimum $82 fine.
If you wish to recycle a car seat, there are locations all across Colorado, and they can be found at the Colorado Department of Transportation’s website.